Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Podiatric Residency Program.
The requirements for licensure as a Podiatric Residency Program are as follows and can be found in Chapter 461, F.S.:
- Any residency program shall be approved by the Council of Podiatry Education of the American Podiatry Association.
- A residency program may be established only at a hospital where a duly licensed podiatric physician is on the hospital staff or is otherwise in a supervisory position.
- Every resident shall register with the board through the submission of forms provided by the board, which forms shall, besides other required information, reflect the date of commencement of residency.
- Every hospital having a residency program shall annually, on July 1 of each year, provide the board with a list of podiatric residents and such other information as is required by the board.
- A program in residency may not allow a resident to continue as an unlicensed resident for an aggregate period of time in excess of 3 years.
Please download, print and complete the paper application and submit to the address listed below:
Florida Board of Podiatric Medicine
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin # C08
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257
- A new or existing residency program must attach a copy of each new Podiatric Resident Registration to the hospital report.
- The residency program must submit a completed a Podiatric Resident Registration application and attach a copy of the hospital’s most recent residency program evaluation by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education.
- If you responded “yes” to any of the Discipline History questions on the application, contact the state board where the discipline occurred to request that certified copies of the board order and any other documents relative to the disciplinary action be submitted directly to the Florida board office:You must also submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the offense. Your letter must include the date of the original offense, the charge and the jurisdiction where it occurred.
- If you responded “yes” to any of the Criminal History questions on the application, contact the clerk of courts in the jurisdiction in which the offense occurred and request that a certified copy of your final/official court disposition be mailed directly to the Florida board office. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
If applicable, request for the following documentation to be sent directly to the board office:
A certified copy of your completion of probation and documentation showing that you have paid all fines; if the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
You must also submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the offense. Your letter must include the date of the original offense, the charge and the jurisdiction where it occurred.
Note: All applications with “yes” responses to the history questions on the application will be presented to the board for review. Board staff will notify you of the date that your application will be presented in the event that you would like to attend.
Within 7-14 days of receipt of your application, the board office will notify you of the status of your application and any remaining required documents that need to be submitted.
There is no fee required for Podiatric Residency Program.
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 461: Podiatric Medicine Practice Act
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Chapter 120: Administrative Procedure Act
Chapter 119: Public Records
Chapter 408: Health Care Administration
Chapter 112: Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)